Book Spotlight: Wheresoever They May Be by Terri Wangard

 

About the Book

Wheresoever They May Be

Book title: Wheresoever They May Be

Author: Terri Wangard

Release date: August 30, 2017

Genre: Historical – World War II

Lily Swanson longs to be a mother. Soon Frank should be home for good and they can furnish a nursery. Maybe even find a bigger house.

Joe Gallagher grew up in a small house with plenty of siblings. He loves the solitude of flying, but the war has dragged on for so long. He’s ready to go home.

Susan Talbot has a bad attitude. She’s estranged from her family and she doesn’t attract friends. But war can bring out the best in people and Susan’s surprised to realize she’s happy.

They all do their part in striving for victory in World War II. Sometimes, though, the danger can be hard to identify.

Click here to purchase your copy.

Continue reading

Social Media Saturday: Kristy Cambron

 

 

Welcome to another Social Media Saturday. If you don’t already follow this week’s author online, you need to!!

 

Author Bio

social media saturday kristy cambronKRISTY CAMBRON has a background in art and design, but she fancies life as a vintage-inspired storyteller. She is the bestselling author of The Ringmaster’s Wife, named to Publishers Weekly Spring 2016 Religion & Spirituality TOP 10. Her novels have been named to Library Journal Reviews’ Best Books and RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards Best lists for 2014 & 2015, and received 2015 & 2017 INSPY Award nominations. The Lost Castle (HarperCollins, series debut in 2018) is her fifth novel. Her first Bible studies (DVD + study guides), The Verse Mapping series, will release in 2018.

Kristy holds a degree in Art History from Indiana University, and has 15 years experience in education and leadership development for a Fortune-100 Corporation. She loves storytelling from the stage and travels to teach about the intersection of story roads, faith-following Jesus, and her affection for Bible Verse-Mapping. Kristy lives in Indiana with her husband and three sons, where she can probably be bribed with a coconut mocha latte and a good read.

The last and most important thing? Jesus Christ is everything — let her tell you about Him sometime.

 

What I love about Kristy

Not only does Kristy write beautiful and moving stories, she opens my eyes to history like no one has before. Whether she’s showing readers the beauty that existed in German concentration camps during World War II (The Butterfly and the Violin and A Sparrow in Terezin) or delving into the lives of historical figures I’ve not thought of much (John and Mable Ringling in The Ringmaster’s Wife and Harry Houdini in The Illusionist’s Apprentice), she brings history alive through her stories.

In addition to her fabulous fiction, Kristy is working on some non-fiction books: verse mapping studies. I am so excited for these! If you want to learn more about verse mapping, check out Kristy’s Verse Mapping 101 Blog Post.

And if those two things alone don’t convince you, her Friday Cafe coffee chats on FB live will. These are informal chats in which you can see some of Kristy’s personality shining through. Her humor, her heart, and her passions shine through during these special author/reader chats.

 

Connect with Kristy

*Website: https://kristycambron.com/

*under construction this summer as the verse mapping Bible studies come together

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KCambronAuthor/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/kcambronauthor/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/kristycambron/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/kcambronauthor/

 

Newest Release

Not all illusions happen on the stage.

Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to

escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.

But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.

Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life’s stage.

“Prepare to be amazed by The Illusionist’s Apprentice.” —Greer Macallister, bestselling author of The Magician’s Lie and Girl in Disguise

Order online or pick up at your local bookstore

 

 

 

 

Review: Catching the Wind by Melanie Dobson

What happened to Brigitte Berthold?

That question has haunted Daniel Knight since he was thirteen, when he and ten-year-old Brigitte escaped the Gestapo agents who arrested both their parents. They survived a harrowing journey from Germany to England, only to be separated upon their arrival. Daniel vowed to find Brigitte after the war, a promise he has fought to fulfill for more than seventy years.

Now a wealthy old man, Daniel’s final hope in finding Brigitte rests with Quenby Vaughn, an American journalist working in London. He believes Quenby’s tenacity to find missing people and her personal investment in a related WWII espionage story will help her succeed where previous investigators have failed. Though Quenby is wrestling her own demons—and wary at the idea of teaming up with Daniel’s lawyer, Lucas Hough—the lure of Brigitte’s story is too much to resist. Together, Quenby and Lucas delve deep into the past, following a trail of deception, sacrifice, and healing that could change all of their futures.

 

Continue reading

Does the Truth Always Set You Free…

Or does it sometimes give your more than you can bear?

If you’re on any form of social media, you know the craziness, the opinions, the outrage that has been expressed over several events in the U.S. this year. From the banning of the confederate flag to the legalization of gay marriage and the travesty that is Planned Parenthood, there have been a number of reasons to go online and express our opinions.

I won’t debate our use this as a platform on any of those issues (this is simply a book review, after all). I bring them up only to point out how simple and easy it is for everyone to express their support or outrage to any news. Sure, there is persecution of Christians in America but that doesn’t stop us from logging into Facebook to share a blog, news article or photograph. It doesn’t stop us from updating our status to tell others how we feel or jumping into a debate with someone who has a different opinion than us.

And it doesn’t force us into hiding like the Jewish people during Hitler’s reign of power. If there was such a thing as Facebook in Nazi Germany, I’m certain the posts would have been one-sided.

SecretsSheKept-cover

Twenty-seven-year-old Hannah Sterling never had a close relationship with her mother despite her best efforts. When her mom dies, Hannah is determined to learn the reason behind the distance. After she learns she has a grandfather her mother never mentioned, Hannah goes to Germany in search of the truth. A truth that reveal much more than Hannah could have imagined.

Thirty years earlier, her grandfather worked his way up in the Nazi ranks. The man, intent on doing whatever it took, did not care what that meant for his only daughter.

Told from Hannah’s perspective in 1973 and her mother’s from 1938-1945, the reader gets the full, gut-wrenching story. A story of one brave girl who loved people regardless of race, regardless of uncertainty or fear and of her daughter who never truly knew her.

What fascinated me about this book was how in the beginning, Hannah’s journey interested me most but about halfway through, I wanted to know about Lieselotte. Did she marry the man she loved? Would her father find out she was helping Jews? Who was the man who seemed to be her father’s puppeteer?

Cathy Gohlke’s World War II story is a little different than the others I’ve read over the past couple of years but no less fraught with tragedy, sorrow, and hope for the future.

In searching for truth, sometimes we find something so horrific we wish we could shove it back into the shadows. Pretend it doesn’t exist. Something so difficult to work through, it causes us to question everything we once believed. And in that moment we are left with a choice: Let it crush us under its weight or forgive and become better because of it.

****Tyndale Blog Network provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.

Thief of Glory by Sigmund Brouwer

thief of glory book cover

Ten-year-old Jeremiah Prins has not idea the turn his life will take the morning another boy challenges him to a fight over a girl. In the Dutch East Indies in 1942,the Prins family leads a privileged life until the Japanese invade the Southeast Pacific. Jeremiah’s father urges him to take care of his mother and younger siblings before he and Jeremiah’s half brothers are taken to work on the railroad. A few weeks later the Japanese return to their home and Jeremiah and his remaining family are loaded into a truck and taken to a Japanese concentration camp. Jeremiah is forced to rely on his cunning and courage to keep his family–and later, his one true love–safe and alive.

While I am well aware of the Jewish concentration camps set up by Hitler, I was unaware of the Jewish interment camps set up to hold the Dutch women and children. Through the eyes of a ten-year-old boy, Sigmund Brouwer paints a vivid picture of the day to day life in these camps and transports the readers to the time and place. I worried for Jeremiah and cried with him throughout this book. It’s a reminder to be thankful for the life I have been given–a life with little pain and trials. Read this one with a tissue, folks. But do read it.

***Blogging for Books provided me with a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. I was not compensated in any way for either a positive or a negative review.