Vanishing Point by Lisa Harris (Review)

Vanishing Point Lisa HarrisDuring Garrett Addison’s first week on the job as a criminal investigator for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, his team is called out to a murder scene of a young girl. She’s the third victim in a string of disappearances with one thing in common–a Polaroid photo of each victim left behind at the crime scene.

The FBI is pulled into the case to help, and Garrett finds himself working with Special Agent Jordan Lambert, the woman he once loved. When yet another girl dies–number six–Garrett blames himself and believes he doesn’t have what it takes to be an agent. What he’ll discover is that, while he may be done with the killer, the killer is not done with him–or Jordan.

Bestselling and award-winning author Lisa Harris unveils an unforgettable story of a case that has haunted the public and law enforcement for more than a decade. Fans of the Nikki Boyd Files will thrill to finally discover what actually happened to Nikki’s sister, Sarah. New readers will become instant fans after devouring this chilling tale.

Amazon // Goodreads

Continue reading

Beneath Copper Falls by Colleen Coble (Review)

Beneath Copper Falls Colleen Coble

Click on Book Cover to order your copy

USA TODAY bestselling author Colleen Coble returns to her beloved Rock Harbor—but both danger and romance hide in this idyllic small town.

Dana Newell has just moved to Rock Harbor to take a job as a sheriff’s dispatcher and is settling in next door to Bree and Kade Matthews. The abusive relationship she left behind seems a distant memory in this perfect place.

Her first day on the job, Dana receives a call from her friend Allyson who screams “He’s going to kill me too” before the phone goes dead. Dana immediately dispatches a deputy, but it’s too late. Allyson’s death is ruled an accident, but Dana just doesn’t believe it. She knows Allyson—an investigative reporter—was researching a new story. Did someone want to keep her quiet?

Dana continues to look into the accident with the help of Bree and also Allyson’s cousin Boone. Romance quickly blooms between Dana and Boone but the game is much more complex than either of them imagined. When Dana’s ex-fiance locates her, she’s caught in the middle. It’s a game of cat and mouse as she and Boone fight to catch one killer while evading another.

Continue reading

Get Caught in Susan Sleeman’s Web of Suspense

Book three in Susan Sleeman’s Agents Under Fire Series, Web of Secrets, will leave you wanting to sleep with the lights on. The first two books of the series had some creepy villains but the one in book three, Van Gogh, is the definition of twisted and evil. After this one, I’m left wondering what kind of bad guy Sleeman will dream up next.

web of secrets cover

Becca Lange has dedicated her life to finding criminals with the FBI cyber team and helping foster children on the side. But one decision, made when she was a teenage, continues to haunt her—and she has the scars to prove her nightmare was indeed real. She has spent years studying and researching the man who held her and her foster sister captive, the man she managed to escape.

When a body of a teenage girl is found with the signatures of Van Gogh, the police ask for Becca’s help with the investigation. Determined to find out once and for all what happened to her friend, her sister, Becca agrees even though it means working with Connor Warren—the man who she can’t deny being attracted to.

From the first page, readers get a peek into the psyche of the villain as he tortures his victim. Throughout the book, his addled mind and skewed perception of reality are laid out in a way that is both unnerving and frightening, especially when he sets his sights on our heroine. Becca’s struggle with her past prevents her from embracing any future happiness—something she believes she might be able to have with Connor.

As a reader, I ached for Becca and what she’d been through, understood why she kept it a secret, and rooted for her to get justice. And I fell a little in love with Connor Warren, a man who works extra hard to put a smile on Becca’s face whenever he can. A man who is determined to protect her, even if it’s from herself.

If you’re a fan of romantic suspense, put this one at the top of your list!

***Bell Bridge Books provided me with a complimentary copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.

The Bones Will Speak by Carrie Stuart Parks

bones will speak cover

Forensic artist Gwen Marcey is shocked when she finds her dog playing with a skull. One that is obviously human. After calling the police, she follows the dog to the location he found the skull. Once at in the area, Gwen finds a young girl who looks like her own daughter barely alive in an abandoned cabin. As she works with the police to figure out what is going on and they discover more bodies, they know they are now searching for a serial killer. At first, the only link between the dead girls is their resemblance to Gwen’s daughter.

With a little digging, Gwen is able to link the murders to a race-hating group, one that does not tolerate people inferior to them or people who betrayed them. People like Gwen whose drawings of potential bombing suspects led to two deaths and an arrest of member of the neo-Nazi group. Someone has a grudge and they want Gwen to pay.

Fast paced and intriguing, this book held my interest from page one. While a little vulnerable from past sickness and experiences, Gwen is whip-smart and likable. She’s a good mother and friend even though she’s struggling to make a living for herself and her daughter. The book kept me guessing as to who the killer was. I waffled between three and four suspects until he was revealed near the end of the book, which is a feat in itself as so often you know who is behind everything right away. The action sequences in the book, especially the one near the end, kept me on the edge of my seat.

The Bones Will Speak is the second Gwen Marcey novel by Carrie Stuart Park. While it was the first one I read, it definitely will not be the last one. Parks’ experience with police investigations and procedures is evident in the details of her story. Fans of Terri Blackstock, Dee Henderson, and Brandilyn Collins will enjoy the Gwen Marcey series.

***Thomas Nelson Fiction provided me with a complimentary copy of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.