Review: Beyond Justice by Cara Putnam

Beyond Justice

 

My Review

Fans of John Grisham’s books or Lis Wiehl’s Mia Quinn series have a new author whose books they’ll devour.

 

As the lawyer with a reputation in her firm of winning the unwinnable cases, Hayden McCarthy is willing to think outside the box when it comes to the law. But when she’s assigned a case with hardly any information—some which she suspects is being kept from her on purpose—and an unwilling client, she’s more determined to bring the truth to light.

 

Then there’s her roommate’s cousin. The son of a US congressman whose work with youth immigrating to the US. His connection with one of his kids is the tie that binds the two of them in danger.

 

While readers only get a glimpse of Hayden in a courtroom, her fast-paced investigations and the trouble lurking around the corner keep the story moving at a good pace. As the cherry blossoms are in full bloom in DC, the romance between Andrew and Hayden is budding.

 

Putnam’s legal background brings authenticity to her first book, Beyond Justice. But the real draw of this story is Hayden’s heart for those who come to her. Her drive to get the answers her clients deserve.

 

I’m looking forward to more stories like this from Putnam in the future.

 

My Rating:

Disclosure statement:

I receive complimentary book via the author, publisher, or blogging programs, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

More About the Book

Hayden McCarthy is on track to become the youngest partner in her prestigious D.C. law firm . . . if the case she’s just been handed doesn’t destroy her first.

Hayden McCarthy knows firsthand the pain when justice is not served. It’s why she became an attorney and why she’s so driven in her career. When she’s assigned a wrongful death case against the government, she isn’t sure if it’s the lucky break she needs to secure a partnership—or an attempt to make sure she never gets there.

Further complicating matters is Andrew, her roommate’s distractingly attractive cousin. But Andrew’s father is a Congressman, and Hayden’s currently taking on the government. Could the timing be any worse?

The longer she keeps the case active, the higher the stakes become. Unknown enemies seem determined to kill the case—or her. Logic and self-preservation would indicate she should close the case. But how can she, when justice is still just beyond her reach?

“Cara Putman’s expert legal mind shines in Beyond Justice as she weaves a gripping, suspenseful tale of intrigue that takes on one of the hardest issues of our time. Hayden McCarthy is one feisty heroine that doesn’t let anything get between her and the truth.” —Jordyn Redwood, author of the Bloodline Trilogy and Fractured Memory

Check it out at Amazon or Goodreads

 

Win a Family Christian Stores Customer Appreciation Certificate!!

Yes, you read that right. At the end of this blog post, you will have several opportunities to gain entries to win a $10 Customer Appreciation Certificate to spend in Family Christian Stores or online.

But wait, before you enter, let me tell you a little about one of the products that you can buy with that certificate. Family Christian Stores provided me with a free copy of Checkmate by Steven James in exchange for an honest and fair review.

“I both wanted to know what happened to Jerome and did not want to know. You can’t erase the things you see at crime scenes from your mind. They get rooted in there in a place that’s impossible to run from. Whatever I ended up seeing in that bedroom, I expected that the images would stay with me for a long time. Maybe forever.”

Excerpt from Checkmate by Steven James

I will admit, my preferred genre for books is romance or romantic suspense but that doesn’t mean I don’t enjoy a legal thriller or something else once in a while. My go to movie choice is usually action or adventure (preferably something that includes some brains with the brawn). I mean, the movie adaptations of Tom Clancy’s books are well done and enjoyable and the Bourne movies adapted from Robert Ludlum’s books are some of my favorites (admittedly, that may have something to do with the crush I’ve had on Matt Damon for years, though).

What a treat Checkmate by Steven James was. This is the eight book in The Bowers Files series, but don’t worry, you don’t have to read the others to follow along in this one–I didn’t and I was still pulled into the story. The main character, Patrick (Pat) Bowers, does reference a few of his previous cases throughout the books and yes, I did the research for you, and some of those cases are the plots of the other books in this series.

checkmate quote

Order your copy from Family Christian Stores online

The advantage to reading a book where a law enforcement agency (in this case, the FBI) is rushing to try and divert a national disaster, is that the reader gets to see into the minds of the characters. James takes readers into the minds and thoughts of several different characters throughout the story. Pat Bowers is truly a good guy–one you cheer for because of the way he loves and respects his family and friends. With the popularity of shows like CSI, Criminal Minds, Law & Order, and more (and these are even mentioned in this book), it makes sense that authors would spend time writing in this genre. There is still so much the public doesn’t know about government agencies and crime prevention.

James does one other thing in his book. Much like Dan Brown does in his fiction, Steven James draws the reader into a place and makes them interested in visiting. I now want to plan a trip to Charlotte, NC to check out the areas and sights mentioned in Checkmate.

checkmate cover

Order your copy from Family Christian Stores online or check out your local store.

And be sure and stay in touch with what Family Christian Stores has to offer by visiting their Facebook page.

Does Checkmate sound like something you might be interested in reading? Or maybe it would make the perfect gift for someone you know. Well, enter to win a Customer Appreciation Certificate and pick up a copy.

a Rafflecopter giveaway