So Pure a Heart by Amber Lynn Perry (Blog Tour with Review, Guest Post and Giveaway)

So Pure a Heart Amber Lynn Perry

 

So Pure a Heart Amber Lynn Perry

 

So Pure a Heart Amber Lynn PerrySeries: Daughters of His Kingdom
Genre: Historical, Romance, Christian
Publisher: Liberty Publishing
Publication date: June 20, 2017
Number of pages: 346Since the night her dear uncle gave his life for hers, Hannah Young is determined to risk everything by spying for the Patriots in order to seek retribution against the British soldier who killed him. But when her former love, Joseph Wythe, insists on ensuring her safety, she must decide if the vengeance she seeks is worth the danger of his nearness. For the love she once felt is liable to grow deeper and more threatening to her heart than it ever was before.Leaving his young ward to join the fight for liberty is the hardest thing Joseph Wythe has ever done. Nearly. The most difficult happened ten years past, which he tries his best forget. Seeing Hannah Young again after all this time does something frightening and wonderful to his soul. Though her determination to spy for the ​Patriots is honorable and brave, he will never allow her to take such a risk without him to protect her, no matter how she protests—and no matter how he knows he will ache all the more for the thing he always wanted and still could never have. 

 

 

 

Continue reading

Review: Distorted by Christy Barritt

With each book she writes, Christy Barritt continues to wow me. How does she manage to draw me into the thick of things, leave me in suspense, wanting answers from those first pages? Every. Single. Time. Distorted (available June 20, 2017) is no exception.

After one year of living a waking nightmare, Mallory Baldwin is determined to move on. In order to do that, she embarks on a book tour to raise awareness of the epidemic of human trafficking. While attempting to gain strength and courage, Mallory still is afraid of the dark, fights nightmares of her time in captivity, and is uncomfortable with any physical contact.

Distorted Christy Barritt
When she receives threats and starts to see the man who held her against her will, Mallory’s manager calls in reinforcements in the person of Tennyson Walker—the former SEAL who rescued Mallory.

Continue reading

Review: Under a Summer Sky by Melody Carlson (Blog Tour)


 

Savannah, GA is a place I’ve always wanted to visit. And after reading Melody Carlson’s newest installment in her Follow Your Heart series, I both feel like I’ve made a trip there and want to go even more. Carlson has a gift of taking her readers along with her characters to explore the areas in her books.

High school art teacher Nicole Anderson is a likable character. Maybe a little too much so. In her attempts to be personable and nice, she lets others run her over. But in her naivety and her desire to do the right thing, to make a difference in the lives around her means that others take notice.

She is a good role model for the thirteen-year-old girl she takes under her wing (and even for the parents of said teenager). But is she also the perfect match for one of the brothers who have taken an interest in her.

As with all of Carlson’s books in this series, it took me a couple of chapters to get used to the third person POV of only the heroine but I was in Nicole’s head within the first two chapters in Under a Summer Sky and enjoyed taking this journey with her.

I will say I had my opinion of who I wanted Nicole to end up with from the get-go. While there’s some twists and turns in her journey, I was more than pleased with the outcome. I would have liked to spend the rest of the summer with Nicole, though!

My Rating:

Disclosure statement:
I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. 

Continue reading

Review: Jane of Austin by Hillary Manton Lodge

 

Note: This post contains affiliate links. Please review the affiliate links portion of disclaimers and legal notices for more information

 

I’m going to admit something that may not be popular here. As a Jane Austen fan, one of her books I like least is a favorite of many. There’s just something about Sense and Sensibility that has always bothered me. Maybe it’s because Marianne Dashwood seems more flighty than heart-on-her-sleeve to me, or that Elinor and Edward spend so little time together that I never get the feel for their relationship.

Whatever it is, I’m happy that there have been some adaptation of the original story that I have enjoyed reading. And Hillary Manton Lodge’s contemporary take on this classic tale is delightful and engaging.

Continue reading

Review: Before We Were Yours by Lisa Wingate

A beautiful portrayal of lives altered by one corrupt and greedy woman.

When I finish a book, I like to let the story sit with me overnight before I review it. Before We Were Yours took more than one evening. There is so much depth to this story, so much pain and sorrow. The bright spots in the novel don’t allow the reader to get fully dragged under.

Based on true events surrounding Georgia Tann (who brokered children to the wealthy from the 1930s-1950s), Rill’s story is fictional but based on accounts of children who spent time in one of Tann’s homes.

Rill’s story is heartbreaking. A twelve-year-old girl who assumes responsibility to her four younger siblings but can’t keep them all together despite her best attempts. A girl who has only known life drifting on rivers in her family’s shanty boat with parents too young to call Mom and Dad. A girl who has everything she loves about her life stripped away only to be forced into a nightmare that grows worse as the days spent apart from her family stretch.

 

 

As Avery Stafford, a politician’s daughter whose life has been mapped out by her family, dives into the mystery present by a woman she meets at one of her father’s political appointments, she uncovers secrets long buried. Secrets that will make her take a hard look at her own life and future.

While reading, I felt Rill’s heartache, her shame and guilt over not keeping her family together, and her desire to return to the life she once had. And I felt Avery’s tug of war between keeping her family happy and living a life that makes her happy.

This story has a satisfying ending, though not exactly a happy one for everyone. It took me a bit to get into it but this is not unusual for me with Lisa Wingate’s stories. Probably because I tend to read more romances than anything, and while there was a hint of it in Before We Were Yours, the romance is not the heart and soul of this story. And just like every other book I’ve read written by this author, sticking with it was more than worth the payout.

My Rating:

Note: This book is written for the ABA market but is a clean read.

Amazon

Goodreads

Disclosure statement:
I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shanty boat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions—and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation . . . or redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.