Review: Beyond Justice by Cara Putnam

Beyond Justice

 

My Review

Fans of John Grisham’s books or Lis Wiehl’s Mia Quinn series have a new author whose books they’ll devour.

 

As the lawyer with a reputation in her firm of winning the unwinnable cases, Hayden McCarthy is willing to think outside the box when it comes to the law. But when she’s assigned a case with hardly any information—some which she suspects is being kept from her on purpose—and an unwilling client, she’s more determined to bring the truth to light.

 

Then there’s her roommate’s cousin. The son of a US congressman whose work with youth immigrating to the US. His connection with one of his kids is the tie that binds the two of them in danger.

 

While readers only get a glimpse of Hayden in a courtroom, her fast-paced investigations and the trouble lurking around the corner keep the story moving at a good pace. As the cherry blossoms are in full bloom in DC, the romance between Andrew and Hayden is budding.

 

Putnam’s legal background brings authenticity to her first book, Beyond Justice. But the real draw of this story is Hayden’s heart for those who come to her. Her drive to get the answers her clients deserve.

 

I’m looking forward to more stories like this from Putnam in the future.

 

My Rating:

Disclosure statement:

I receive complimentary book via the author, publisher, or blogging programs, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

More About the Book

Hayden McCarthy is on track to become the youngest partner in her prestigious D.C. law firm . . . if the case she’s just been handed doesn’t destroy her first.

Hayden McCarthy knows firsthand the pain when justice is not served. It’s why she became an attorney and why she’s so driven in her career. When she’s assigned a wrongful death case against the government, she isn’t sure if it’s the lucky break she needs to secure a partnership—or an attempt to make sure she never gets there.

Further complicating matters is Andrew, her roommate’s distractingly attractive cousin. But Andrew’s father is a Congressman, and Hayden’s currently taking on the government. Could the timing be any worse?

The longer she keeps the case active, the higher the stakes become. Unknown enemies seem determined to kill the case—or her. Logic and self-preservation would indicate she should close the case. But how can she, when justice is still just beyond her reach?

“Cara Putman’s expert legal mind shines in Beyond Justice as she weaves a gripping, suspenseful tale of intrigue that takes on one of the hardest issues of our time. Hayden McCarthy is one feisty heroine that doesn’t let anything get between her and the truth.” —Jordyn Redwood, author of the Bloodline Trilogy and Fractured Memory

Check it out at Amazon or Goodreads

 

Book Review: Grace and the Preacher by Kim Vogel Sawyer

My Review

Sometimes God has a different path than the one we plan out.

Theo Garrison is hiding a huge secret, one that might destroy everything he’s built, including his budding relationship with Grace Cristler, in Fairland.

In Grace and the Preacher, both of characters are likable and despite Theo’s duplicity, I wanted him to find happiness. To find his identity in Christ and his home in Kansas. Grace’s soft heart and naivety could have made her annoying, but the author managed to balance it perfectly throughout the story.

As both Grace and Theo embark on a journey they didn’t set out on, they draw closer to each other. While Grace questions some odd things about the new preacher, she is quick to accept the reasoning of her elders as to why he’s different in person than on paper.

Continue reading

One Pan & Done Cookbook by Molly Gilbert

One Pan & Done: Hassle-Free Meals from the Oven to Your Table

Molly Gilbert

 

About the book

The author of the runaway hit Sheet Pan Suppers expands her repertoire with easy and delicious recipes for dutch ovens, skillets, casserole baking dishes, and more. 

In One Pan & Done, Molly Gilbert shows you how to use your oven to your advantage, letting it do most of the work to turn out juicy, crispy roasts, succulent vegetables, rich stews, flaky fish, and, of course, sweet treats. Think of it as fast slow-cooking, but with the benefits of baking, roasting, and broiling for concentrated, intense flavor every time. The best part is that with Molly’s simple, hands-off recipes, you’ll have time to savor your meal and enjoy your company. Whether you’re an over-scheduled parent, a busy young professional, or even an accomplished cook, you deserve food that’s big on flavor, but simple on steps. With Molly’s recipes, you get in the kitchen, and you get out. Kick the oven door shut as you walk away—your meal is One Pan & Done.

 

My review

Do you dread coming home from a long day at the office only to spend the evening cooking dinner for your family then cleaning it all up? Recipes that cause me to run my dishwasher more than once after prep are ones I skip.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Molly Gilbert’s One Pan & Done. You see, I’m not only preparing my meals at home (sometimes after work and a gym class), I’m also focused on eating healthy. And too often healthy eating equals extra work in the kitchen—both prep and cleanup.

It was a pleasant surprise to find many great and healthy options in One Pan & Done. That’s not to say some of the recipes are best left in the cookbook, but it’s still one I can use in my own kitchen.

Who’s going to pass up an easy-to-make, one pot, healthy dinner? It certainly won’t be me. From breakfasts such as baked oatmeal on the go and radish and ricotta frittata to veggie mains like baked spring risotto and red curry squash bowls (there are plenty of options for meat and fish lovers too), One Pan & Done covers every meal, the in between, and the after.

If you’re looking for easy, healthy, family friendly recipes, definitely consider picking this one up for your collection.

 

 

Disclosure statement:

I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

31 Verses to Write on Your Heart by Liz Curtis Higgs

31 Verses to Write on your Heart

 

 

About the book

 Let His Truth Find a Home in Your Heart
Here are the words of hope you’re looking for when your faith needs a boost or a friend needs encouragement. Chosen by more than a thousand women as their favorite verses in the Bible, each one is worth learning, worth sharing, worth remembering,

You’ll find verses you already know and love: “I can do all this through him who gives me strength” (Philippians 4:13)Others may be less familiar but are no less powerful: “Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe” (Proverbs 29:25). All of them capture the truth of God’s goodness, mercy, and love for His own.

Best-selling author Liz Curtis Higgs invites you to experience—
* a deeper, richer understanding of thirty-one treasured verses.
* a fresh look at how these timeless truths can impact your life.
* a new passion for memorizing Scripture, verse by verse.
* thirty-one creative ways to keep them in your heart forever.

With a study guide included, 31 Verses to Write on Your Heart is a daily devotional and a small-group Bible study, wrapped in a lovely gift book overflowing with joy!

My thoughts

 

I’ll admit that my devotional time is an area in my life I’d like to improve on. What can go wrong when you start the day with God? But putting it into practice (making it a habit) takes time and as we all know, undoing a habit takes a lot less time than building a habit. But I found with 31 Verses to Write on Your Heart, spending that time with one verse at a time and diving deeper into the meaning is just what I need. I appreciated Liz Curtis Higgs sharing some personal stories within the more in-depth studies. I also loved the different translations.

 

Each chapter of this books contains a verse, a deconstruction of that verse, a prayer, and a tip for memorizing Scripture. Verses range from those we all know (Jeremiah 29:11, anyone?) to those that we may have forgotten about but each one is God-breathed and worth taking the time to ponder, study, and hold close.

 

 

Disclosure statement:
I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

 

Guide Me Home by Kim Vogel Sawyer

As a resident of Nashville, I’ve made the trek north into Kentucky to visit Mammoth Cave, and believe me, its name does not do it justice. Standing in the entrance of the large cave, a visitor realizes the vastness of God’s creation (and it’s just a small, tiny part of this large cave system). I’d post a picture, but it would just be a picture of blackness.

In Guide Me Home, Kim Vogel Sawyer, offers readers a glimpse into the world of the cave system while giving quite a bit of history—and yes, this is a work of fiction so some of it is creative license but much of it (the creatures, the trails, the saltpeter mining, and more) is steeped in fact.

guide me home cover

Rebekah Hardin’s desire to ease her family’s sorrow and suffering lead her to take a job as a guide at the Mammoth Cave resort—a job that is given only to men. Her determination leads her to don men’s clothes and grasp for the job. While Tolly Sandford see’s through Rebekah’s disguise almost immediately, he’s not keen to turn her away and hires her as Reb. Devlin Bale has set his sights on mapping out the cave system as his senior project—one that will not only get him to college graduation but will also give his father a step up in his run for state senate. Cissy Hardin is not like the rest of her family, she believes she’s destined for something greater, something more than being a poor Kentucky farmer’s daughter and she’s determined to make that reality happen no matter what.

As these four lives are intertwined both in the cave and in the land surrounding the cave, each person must face a truth that isn’t always pleasant. Rebecca struggles with guilt, Devlin (while a good person and a complete gentleman) has not yet found the true Source of Light, Tolly’s own burden of guilt weighs heavily, and Cissy’s selfishness and self-importance hurt more than herself.

A story that so beautifully illustrates light in darkness, peace that surpasses understanding, and love undeserving, Guide Me Home is worth the read.

***Blogging for Books and Waterbrook Multnomah Publishers provided me with a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest and fair review. All opinions expressed are my own.