Review: Beyond Justice by Cara Putnam

Beyond Justice

 

My Review

Fans of John Grisham’s books or Lis Wiehl’s Mia Quinn series have a new author whose books they’ll devour.

 

As the lawyer with a reputation in her firm of winning the unwinnable cases, Hayden McCarthy is willing to think outside the box when it comes to the law. But when she’s assigned a case with hardly any information—some which she suspects is being kept from her on purpose—and an unwilling client, she’s more determined to bring the truth to light.

 

Then there’s her roommate’s cousin. The son of a US congressman whose work with youth immigrating to the US. His connection with one of his kids is the tie that binds the two of them in danger.

 

While readers only get a glimpse of Hayden in a courtroom, her fast-paced investigations and the trouble lurking around the corner keep the story moving at a good pace. As the cherry blossoms are in full bloom in DC, the romance between Andrew and Hayden is budding.

 

Putnam’s legal background brings authenticity to her first book, Beyond Justice. But the real draw of this story is Hayden’s heart for those who come to her. Her drive to get the answers her clients deserve.

 

I’m looking forward to more stories like this from Putnam in the future.

 

My Rating:

Disclosure statement:

I receive complimentary book via the author, publisher, or blogging programs, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

More About the Book

Hayden McCarthy is on track to become the youngest partner in her prestigious D.C. law firm . . . if the case she’s just been handed doesn’t destroy her first.

Hayden McCarthy knows firsthand the pain when justice is not served. It’s why she became an attorney and why she’s so driven in her career. When she’s assigned a wrongful death case against the government, she isn’t sure if it’s the lucky break she needs to secure a partnership—or an attempt to make sure she never gets there.

Further complicating matters is Andrew, her roommate’s distractingly attractive cousin. But Andrew’s father is a Congressman, and Hayden’s currently taking on the government. Could the timing be any worse?

The longer she keeps the case active, the higher the stakes become. Unknown enemies seem determined to kill the case—or her. Logic and self-preservation would indicate she should close the case. But how can she, when justice is still just beyond her reach?

“Cara Putman’s expert legal mind shines in Beyond Justice as she weaves a gripping, suspenseful tale of intrigue that takes on one of the hardest issues of our time. Hayden McCarthy is one feisty heroine that doesn’t let anything get between her and the truth.” —Jordyn Redwood, author of the Bloodline Trilogy and Fractured Memory

Check it out at Amazon or Goodreads

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *