Review: The Noble Servant by Melanie Dickerson

She lost everything to an evil conspiracy . . . but that loss may just give her all she ever wanted.

Since meeting Steffan, the Duke of Wolfberg, at Thornbeck Castle, Lady Magdalen has not been able to stop thinking about him. She knows—as a penniless lady with little to offer in terms of a dowry—she has no real hope of marrying such a highly titled man, so it comes as a great surprise when she receives a letter from him, asking for her hand in marriage.

But all is not what it seems at Wolfberg Castle. Steffan has been evicted by his scheming uncle, and his cousin has taken over the title of duke. Left for dead, Steffan is able to escape, and disguised as a shepherd, hopes to gain entry to the castle to claim the items that will prove he is the true Duke of Wolfberg.

Journeying to the castle, Magdalen has no idea what awaits her, but she certainly did not expect her loyal maidservant to turn on her. Forcing Magdalen to trade places with her, the servant plans to marry the duke and force Magdalen to tend the geese.

Without their respective titles—and the privileges that came with them—Steffan and Magdalen are reunited in the shepherd’s field. Together they conspire to get back their rightful titles. But they must hurry . . . or else they risk losing it all to the uncle’s evil plan.

Continue reading

Happy birthday to Sound of Emeralds by Rachelle Rae Cobb

Welcome to The Sound of Emeralds birthday blog tour. Rachelle Rae Cobb’s third installment in the Steadfast Love series set during the 16th century turns one this month. And when authors celebrate their books, it often means a giveaway for you (so be sure and enter to win at the end of this post).

Rachelle is also the author of The Sound of Diamonds and The Sound of Silver, the first two books in the series. She has also written Write Well, a guide for writers! Last summer, she married a man with the same first name as the hero of the Steadfast Love series! I’m joining in this blog tour to tell you a little more about Emeralds and spread the news about the rocking giveaway Rachelle is hosting—make sure you enter using the Rafflecopter form to win signed copies of all three books!

 

 

ABOUT The Steadfast Love SERIES

In 16th-century Europe, the Reformation rages between Protestants and Catholics. Gwyneth, half-Dutch, flees from England to Holland to escape the man who murdered her parents. When he follows her there and insists he came to rescue her, will she trust this man called Dirk? When tragedy strikes, will their steadfast love erode?

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Times gone by snatch Rachelle Rea Cobb close, so she reads and writes about years long ago–her passions include the Reformation, Revolutions, and romance. Rachelle wrote the Steadfast Love series during college. Five months after she graduated, she signed a three-book deal with her dream publisher, WhiteFire. She’s a homeschool grad, Oreo addict, and plots her novels while driving around her dream car, a pick-up truck. In June 2016, she married a man with the same name as her fictional hero, and they live happily ever after in Small Town, South. She is also the author of Write Well, a guide for writers, which released on March 4th!

 

Connect

 Websitehttp://RachelleReaCobb.com/

Facebookhttp://facebook.com/RachelleReaCobb

Twitterhttps://twitter.com/RachelleReaCobb

Pinteresthttp://www.pinterest.com/RachelleReaCobb/

Instagram: @RachelleReaCobb

Amazon Author Pagehttp://www.amazon.com/Rachelle-Rea/e/B00RZHIL1Q

Goodreadshttps://www.goodreads.com/author/show/8144149.Rachelle_Rea_Cobb

 

 

ABOUT The Sound of Emeralds

 

What once was blazing hatred has turned to lasting love, but could the union of a wild heart with that of a lady ever result in more than heartache?

With the help of an old friend with uncertain loyalties, Dirk inches ever closer to clearing his name. Gwyneth throws her faith into good tidings and the promise of a future as a family. But an old evil comes to call, just as tragedy rips apart a fledgling truce. Enemies from the past and grief for the future threaten to tear asunder what God had brought together…

As the date of Dirk’s trial approaches, his fate and his family hang in the balance. Will he be proven innocent of Gwyneth’s parents’ murders—or separated from her forever? How much pain does it take to erode a love steadfast?

 

Find The Sound of Emeralds on…

Amazon Paperback: http://is.gd/F53u5R

Kindle: http://is.gd/F53u5R

Barnes & Noble: http://is.gd/RguS9l

Books a Million: http://is.gd/NdMWGr

Goodreads: http://is.gd/zRI9dg

 

Giveaway

 

Enter using the Rafflecopter form below to signed copies of ALL THREE of Rachelle’s novels. The whole series, signed!

 

International friends, this giveaway is open to continental U.S. addresses only (sorry!). But do still enter, because one international winner will also be chosen to receive all three e-books.

 
a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

 

 

Review: The Bull Rider’s Homecoming by Allie Pleiter

 

 

Book review

Will the drive for fame and fortune ruin his future happiness?

Luke Buckton’s plan to return to his hometown of Martins Gap, Texas, is derailed by one fateful ride. The only person he trusts to get him back in shape and ready to ride again is the one person who has the most reason to hate him—Ruby Sheldon.

When an injury brings her a new client in the form of the man who broker her heart, Physical Therapist Ruby Sheldon is set on proving she’s over him. Luke always had a special hold on her. But he also left without a backward glance.

There are a lot of connecting themes woven throughout The Bull Rider’s Homecoming—family, seeking fame and glory instead of God, healing, love, and letting go of one dream to realize a greater one.

 

And Allie Pleiter handles each one brilliantly while giving readers glimpses into the excitement and danger of Luke’s chosen profession as well as the tension between two people bent on protecting their bruised hearts.

The Bull Rider’s Homecoming is an enjoyable and thought-provoking ride.

My Rating:

 

Disclosure statement:

I receive complimentary books for review from publishers, publicists, and/or authors, including Netgalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

Amazon/CBD

Continue reading

Review: Beyond Justice by Cara Putnam

Beyond Justice

 

My Review

Fans of John Grisham’s books or Lis Wiehl’s Mia Quinn series have a new author whose books they’ll devour.

 

As the lawyer with a reputation in her firm of winning the unwinnable cases, Hayden McCarthy is willing to think outside the box when it comes to the law. But when she’s assigned a case with hardly any information—some which she suspects is being kept from her on purpose—and an unwilling client, she’s more determined to bring the truth to light.

 

Then there’s her roommate’s cousin. The son of a US congressman whose work with youth immigrating to the US. His connection with one of his kids is the tie that binds the two of them in danger.

 

While readers only get a glimpse of Hayden in a courtroom, her fast-paced investigations and the trouble lurking around the corner keep the story moving at a good pace. As the cherry blossoms are in full bloom in DC, the romance between Andrew and Hayden is budding.

 

Putnam’s legal background brings authenticity to her first book, Beyond Justice. But the real draw of this story is Hayden’s heart for those who come to her. Her drive to get the answers her clients deserve.

 

I’m looking forward to more stories like this from Putnam in the future.

 

My Rating:

Disclosure statement:

I receive complimentary book via the author, publisher, or blogging programs, including NetGalley. I am not required to write positive reviews. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

 

More About the Book

Hayden McCarthy is on track to become the youngest partner in her prestigious D.C. law firm . . . if the case she’s just been handed doesn’t destroy her first.

Hayden McCarthy knows firsthand the pain when justice is not served. It’s why she became an attorney and why she’s so driven in her career. When she’s assigned a wrongful death case against the government, she isn’t sure if it’s the lucky break she needs to secure a partnership—or an attempt to make sure she never gets there.

Further complicating matters is Andrew, her roommate’s distractingly attractive cousin. But Andrew’s father is a Congressman, and Hayden’s currently taking on the government. Could the timing be any worse?

The longer she keeps the case active, the higher the stakes become. Unknown enemies seem determined to kill the case—or her. Logic and self-preservation would indicate she should close the case. But how can she, when justice is still just beyond her reach?

“Cara Putman’s expert legal mind shines in Beyond Justice as she weaves a gripping, suspenseful tale of intrigue that takes on one of the hardest issues of our time. Hayden McCarthy is one feisty heroine that doesn’t let anything get between her and the truth.” —Jordyn Redwood, author of the Bloodline Trilogy and Fractured Memory

Check it out at Amazon or Goodreads

 

Blog Tour (& Giveaway): Dreams in Deadwood by Kari Trumbo

 

 

 

 

Series: Seven Brides of South Dakota

Genre: Christian, Historical, Romance

Publisher: Indie

Publication date: February 28, 2017

Number of pages: 298

Jennie Arnsby wants nothing more than to turn around and go home. Her family is on their way to Deadwood, SD, when Aiden finds his way to their small wagon train. His teasing and banter leaves her wanting to toss him out the back and in the dust. When, they are separated outside the city, she is left wondering if she’ll ever see him again.

Aiden Bradly wants to find his gold and return home, nothing more. He can’t afford to get tangled with a woman. He’s doing just that until he meets the feisty Jenny. She gets him thinking about his past and forgiveness, but what’s more important, his past or his new future?

Will Aiden be able to redeem both his past and his future and find a greater treasure than he ever imagined?

Dreams in Deadwood is book one of the Seven Brides of South Dakota series by Kari Trumbo. A romantic, Wild West romp in pioneer South Dakota.

GOODREADS | AMAZON

Continue reading